Jeremy Duns

Official website

Jeremy Duns - Author of ther Paul Dark series and Dead Drop

Song of Treason

(First published as Free Country)

May 1, 1969: Paul Dark now finds himself a target for both exposure, and assassination. Desperate to escape his predicament, he gambles everything on one last throw of the dice, exposing his Soviet handler to the British. But before long, he finds he has no choice but to go on the run again, and the race is on to stop a deadly conspiracy that dates back to the early years of the Cold War.

Set in Rome, Sardinia and Istanbul, the second novel in the Paul Dark series, Song of Treason, is another sweat-soaked Sixties-set spy thriller in the tradition of Len Deighton and Frederick Forsyth.

‘A blast from the past… a taut and tortured exploration of betrayal on the national, ideological and personal levels simultaneously… A cleverly twisted tale of intrigue and deception, this is a masterly excursion back to the bad old days of the Cold War.’ – The Times

‘With its subtly deployed late-60s feel, Free Country is a treat for fans of traditional Len Deighton-style thrillers.’ – The Guardian

‘Three-part homage to the morally ambiguous Sixties thrillers of le Carré and Deighton… nuanced to the hilt.’ –The Daily Telegraph

‘A well written, intriguing spy thriller, combining the cerebral aspects of the tortuous tangled web of loyalties, espionage and counter-espionage with aspects of an action thriller, featuring some corking chase scenes in the Vatican and Turin.’ – Euro Crime

‘Duns has created a character who can stand alongside Smiley and Harry Palmer in the annals of cold war fiction’ – Rob Spence, spencro.blogspot.com

Buy the hardback, paperback or ebook at:

HIVE

BOOK DEPOSITORY

AMAZON UK

AMAZON CANADA

WATERSTONES

WH SMITH

More buying options at:

SIMON & SCHUSTER UK

Also available in the US as part of the omnibus edition The Dark Chronicles.